I am very, very new to this

truepoet

Hello, everyone. I am very new to home recording, and I have decided to record a song. I have some things I'm not sure about, and I need help.
1. I'm thinking of ordering a Samson G-Track USB Microphone and Audio Interface. Does this mean I'm good for recording vocals and I need nothing more? (I'm not talking about quality) Do I just plug this into my computer? I have Windows XP.

2. I'm also thinking of ordering a USB MIDI Cable Converter PC to Music Keyboard. I thought of borrowing a keyboard from a friend just to record this one song, and I'm wondering: are all keyboards able to connect to MIDI cable converters?

3. Since my budget is extremely limited, I can't afford a drum pad. Instead, I'm going to use electronic drums/download loops. Is there a cheap or free electronic drum download?

Let's say that I have all of these, and then I plug them into my computer. What happens after? Does something pop up? Or do I have to download a program?

I have alot more questions, but I can't think of them. Please help!

and everything is going to work?

But of course....

Oh, sorry, I was thinking we were in a parallel universe.

I'd suggest you use the search function up above and look for any of the other "I'm new to this, how do I make it all work?" threads in the Newbies forum (or just go through the pages) and do a bit of reading.

In principle, with what you're thinking of getting, you have enough to get a recording happening.

Pretty much all keyboards are MIDI devices, incidentally.

Will it all magically work together? Not a chance, I'd say.

You'll have to learn to operate numerous pieces of kit and get them to talk to each other as well as understand some basic recording principles. But don't worry, thousands before you have mastered this and there are always people here willing to help when you have specific questions.

There are probably better free programs than Audacity, but it's a good start and relatively simple.