hows this setup so far?

hd1903

i don't know much but this is my conclusion for what i want/need so far. i'm trying to peice together what i'm learing and whats best for me, not easy.

audiophile 2496(usb or pci?)
SP-5B Studiophile Active Monitors
audio techinica atm-25 mic
shure sm57's for the rest
cool edit pro

my questions are, does this look like i'm going in the right direction, does all this match up good?

i need to record atleast 8 tracks at a time, what examples of mixers would be good for this, i can't afford alot but don't want to cheat myself either.

am i set with mic's for a rock band demo, vocal mic?, are overhead drum mic's /room mic's critical for recording.(are they basicly the same thing?)

should i have a mastering prog to finalize a demo, can cool edit do it ok.

thanks for any help

hd1903,

The Audiophile 2496 is a 4X4 I/O card. You won't be able to record 8 SEPARATE tracks at one time. You can record 8 tracks throuh a mixer then have 2 stereo busses (ie 4 channels) running into the Audiophile...

Other than that.. I don't know about the other stuff enough to comment. That just stood out for me ;)

I'm guessing that Cool Edit Pro can record more than 2 tracks at one time?

Porter

the audiophile is not 4/4, unless you can make use of the SPDIF. it only has 2 analog ins and outs.

the only thing you're missing from your list are preamps, which would be included if you bought a mixer.

sm57s can be used for almost anything. but condensors are usually the mics of choice for drum overheads and vocals. a studio projects B1 is a well-regarded cheap condensor and could sound good on a lot of things (i have a B3, which i really like).

what exact models or brands of good mixer/pre amps would you suggest, and how would someone normaly record 8 or more tracks at a time, different card or is it the mixer/pre amp that will make it happen.