How you all tracking?

Status
Not open for further replies.

NattyB

Heard a lot of sour notes about the VS series since I got here. Just wondering how those of you who don't like the VS are tracking? ProTools? Cakewalk? Other DAWS? ADAT? Analog?

Let me know. I also wonder how many of you who dislike the VS series have had any serious time with the machine? There are things that aren't the greatest (like the preamps), but there's a lot of power under the hood for those willing to put in the time and pay their dues. I've been using the VS series (3 different models) since 1996. Been with the 1680 for coming up on two years. Still don't know my way around everything, but I am always discovering new tricks that I am more than willing to pass along to fellow users.

Looking forward to hearing from you all ~ NattyB

I have a VS880EX and I think it's a great little machine. Unfortunately I have Cakewalk and an analog 8 track, so the 880 just sits most of the time. But I still like it and WILL use it someday.

Thanks, Monty. Definitely use the FX from that 880EX. Some good stuff in there. Do you play guitar at all? You can create some killer sounds with the onboard FX, even if you just have acoustic electric.

NattyB

I use two Adats and Logic. I wish this forum had a Logic section-it is much better than Cubase which I used to use. Rock On!

Natty...funny you should mention the effects. Half the reason I bought one was because of the effects. For guitar, however, I prefer the POD, unless it's a clean sound. When I first had it, I thought the guitar distortion effects were pretty good, but they don't compare to the POD. I am amazed, though, at the number of adjustable parameters within each of the factory settings. People who don't have one, don't realize that. I've used the effects while recording to an analog deck and Cakewalk also. I also use the VSPro Toolbox with it.