How would YOU mic this kit?

wx3

Hey guys,

I'm going to be recording some drums today and it's my first time actually having some options.

I've got the possibility of running up to 8 mics at once micing a standard 5 piece kit with only a couple cymbals.

Mics to condend with:

Shure KSM 32
Studio Projects B1
Shure SM 57
Shure SM 58
4 Shure PG 58's

How would you mic the kit with these mics? Should I use both condensors as overheads or just one? I know that overheads are typically SDC's but I had to sell my 603's a while ago :(. How would you position the LDC's? That's what I'm most confused about. Also should I even bother with the PG series mics?

Thanks.

I forgot to add that I'm recording in a non-acoustically treated bedroom. Any quick fixes for this?

Bedroom recording

wx3 said:
I forgot to add that I'm recording in a non-acoustically treated bedroom. Any quick fixes for this?

How big is this room?
How much stuff is in it?
To do it somewhat right,.you need to ditch the bed and any chairs of course.
As far as mics go, I think it's going to be a trial and error recording.
Take as many takes as you can.Adjust for different levels.EQ?
Its hard to make it sound good in a dead room!
I know I have a totally dead practice room!
If you can get a couple of good room mics Beg/ borrow/ steal.(I prefer to borrow or rent.) :D
If you can post some of the progress, I'm sure there will be some POSITIVE
critique. :)
Startoff with the overheads two drumstick heights off the snare,
one above each crash cymbal. Make sure to watch out for cymbal wash,it will waver if your off the edge of the cymbals to far.
I know I missed some other things, so make sure to do a search in this forum
for O.H. recording! Good luck!

Last edited:
Well the room is basically big enough thats once theres a set of drums in here I won't be able to walk around, lol. I was just thinking of hanging a heavy sheet or something like that behind the kit to help reduce reflextions.

Okay