How Would You Improve This Setup?

RTWmaniac

I'm a total novice when it comes to recording and the little I know, I taught myself. I arbitrarily accumulated random pieces of equipment and I don't know what is most important to upgrade or replace. Here's what I'm working with:

I'm using Adobe Audtion 2.0 on a Dell Notebook, I connect with an M-Audio Fast Track USB interface, I use a JVC stereo with good speakers as my "monitors" and sometimes a mediocre pair of Sven headphones. My main instrument is a Yamaha XP-50 keyboard and I also use Ibanez (gotta get rid of that floating bridge!!) and Dean guitars. I have a decent Fender combo amp and also a Marshall Valvestate head. I realize this isn't the best but I use it for the distortion. I also have one mic that was originally part of a set. Don't really know the quality but it sounds okay to my ignorant ears. My keys sound good in my mixes but the guitar tones need work.

I should also mention that I'll be in the market for a new computer/laptop in the upcoming months. I'm a PC man so, unless a Mac would be unanimously superior in the world of audio engineering, I'd like to stick with a PC. Anything I should consider before buying, like soundcards or whatever?

It would help a lot if anyone could give me a quick list of things in my setup to replace or upgrade, in order of importance. I'm not loaded, but I don't mind shelling out a few grand over the next year as long as it's worth it. Thanks!

If you're using it for purposes other than recording as well, go PC. If it's a recording only, as much as I love PCs, macs tend to work better.

Also, you asked how to improve the setup. You don't specify how good your speakers are, you might want to buy some better monitors.

If you're using it for purposes other than recording as well, go PC. If it's a recording only, as much as I love PCs, macs tend to work better.