How To Record Chunky Guitars

Hi! I wonder if some professional or somebody better at this than myself can assist me.

I have been recording for maybe 6 years now and have always been experiencing this same problem. It has brought me to think whether or not it is simply my lack of knowledge or could it be that I am using the wrong gear?

I am recording mainly guitar driven music encompassing Bass, Guitar*3 maybe 4, Drums, Vocals and sometimes some keys. I have a Digitech RP6, a Korg 2020, Yamaha FX550, Yamaha DG100 (Wonderfull piece) amongst a whole host of other gear, however, when I record a guitar part it never sounds how I would like it to. There is often a lack of grit, body and warmth. I have tried recording from my amp using various mics and alas the problem still remains. It is a full y digital setup, however I still experienced this problem in my analogue days.

Please can somebody help me? I need to know.

Thanks.
The Mighty Druid.

OH Mighty Druid:

I think you might want to run your guitar into a mic preamp and then run the signal into your recorder. The preamp will give you plenty of "boost." Recording or micing from a guitar speaker is much harder as you may need different mics for different affects.

When you run the guitar from a preamp to a recorder you can put in the FX in the headset and when you've finished recording the cut, you can check the mix and add the same FX (most recorders will let you hear FX but not record it) or you can change the FX anyway you want and tweak the EQ anyway you want. This, I think, will finally get you to the gritty phatt sounds you are looking for.

Happy experimenting,

Green Hornet

Well thanks for the advice. But I have tried to do this via the Yamaha DG1000 Guitar Preamp. I must say that I do however get some marvellous clean sounds using this piece. Alas the Heavy stuff is still second rate.