How to record an audio track and what is the big advantage?

rdeboer

You guys probably have heard this question a million times, however as my status says; I'm a newbie.

Especially when it comes to hard disc recording in Cubase. I just set up my gear after I moved and now I wanted to do some hard disc recording. After having tried to connect my sound card (Pinnacle Project Studio) to my mixer (spirit studio) and vice versa I do get some feedback when I open the line channels on my mixer.

However, if I try to record an audio track in Cubase my recording is to soft or to loud (distortion). I contacted my local distributor and the guy said that I should activate mutli-recording (?). I don't think that that has something to do with my problem.

Does anyone know how to correctly instruct Cubase to normally record an audio track.

Also can someone tell me what the true advantage of audio recording is? In what cases should you do hard disc recording...

Sounds like you have the main (left/right) output of your mixer going to the input of your sound card. If you do that and have the output of the computer coming back to the mixer, you're ringing around. That's probably why you're getting feedback. Try using a channel insert as the send to the card.

"Try using a channel insert as the send to the card"

What do you mean by this? From where to where should I insert what?

Channel insert as in a line channel from the mixer?

Send to the line out or line in from the card?