How to position an AKG C3000 to record a Tenor Saxophone.

Humbardi

I intend to record myself using an AKG C3000 Microphone connected to an audio interface ( U-phoria UM2) using a MacBook Pro running Logic Pro. I would like to know what is the best position to put the Microphone related to the Saxophone to get the best audio from the instrument. I Will be using playalongs played in another Device that connects to another input on the interface, and I will monitoring the audio using headphones connected to the interface. Also, what is the recommended level of the audio voume. I appreciate your opiniones and recommendations, as I am new in this Recording world.

Last edited:
There's no one right way to do it. You should experiment to find a method that works for your situation. Be aware that much of the sound comes from the keys, not just the bell.

Optimal levels are easier to define. You want it to be reasonably strong but with no chance of clipping. If the signal spends roughly equal time above and below -18 dBFS, it's probably about right.

It depends on what is being played. Music rich in the upper register needs a mic position pointed at the left hand area, more than the bell if you want the hissy stuff and key clack. If it’s jazz, then a bit further away so the left hand and bell is within its capture zone, and then maybe a bit of gentle LF boost. If the player is growling a lot and being clever, or doing screaming runs, then favour the right hand and bell area if you don’t want his actual voice to be heard.

so much depends on your room of course, so we cannot tell you what gain setting to pick, turn it up till you find the peaking level and back it off to give you headroom, and back off a bit more if the player is a bit, er, random.