How to get a 3D mix?

Douhgy

When I compare my mixes with professional mixes, I notice that mine sound very two demensional. Flat. I have panned things in my mix, but I don't know how to get that "surround" feeling. Any suggestions? I would really appreciate specific suggestions on how to master to get a more 3D sound.

Here is one of my mixes for critique:

Douhgy said:
When I compare my mixes with professional mixes, I notice that mine sound very two demensional. Flat. I have panned things in my mix, but I don't know how to get that "surround" feeling. Any suggestions? I would really appreciate specific suggestions on how to master to get a more 3D sound.

Here is one of my mixes for critique:

I'm not really the guy to ask because I'm an amateur myself, but I really enjoyed this. I think it sounds quite good. As for the "3D effect" you hear in professionally recorded songs, my guess is that it's their top of the line reverbs and perfect sounding rooms. :confused:

The only advice I can really give you is not to get discouraged, your recordings sound really good.

:cool: Just think about what is involved in a 3D image. Width, height and depth. Which are associated with panning, volume, and a time delay of somesort. Your recording sounds good, however I think the vocals are too far back. The guitars over power them a lot. This might help you with accomplishing the 3D image since the vocals are more centered. Bring them up in the mix (or the guitars down) and make them more in your face (less reverb will help). It sounds pretty good though. It also seems you might have used a lot of gain makeup during compression??? I dont know...it's weird because the normal level I listen to music at is too loud for my ears when I play this song. This isn't necessarily a bad or good thing. Just something I noticed. Nice job though. :cool:

bennychico11 hit the nail on the head.