How to find my style?

RichJ

Hi all,
Happy New Year to everyone!!
Here's a question to start of the year (and it may take the year to answer!).

How do I find my style of music/songwriting?

I'm a guitarist, but currently only have an acoustic. I have a basic computer setup with keyboard and various softsynths and plugins...
Some things I listen to: Lucinda Williams, Bruce Springsteen, The Cure, New Order, Depeche Mode, Air, Gorillaz, Chemical Brothers, Rush, Pearl Jam and Eddie Vedder, Radiohead, Green Day.

How do I go from listener of various styles to creator of my own music?
Ideas? Tips?
Thanks,
-Rich

one of my favorite quotes is from jazz legend dave brubeck...

"style is determined not by what you play... but by what you cant...."

in otherwords we limit ourselves by what we dont know... so the more you emerse yourself in lotsa styles the more style you have...

good luck finding your voice...

Well, if you have a guitar, you effectively have an orchestra. Some great songs have been written just using a few chords as backing and the melody sung over it. If you are an accomplished player, better still. A lot of very successful songwriters have only effectively had a guitar to compose with. Bob Dylan and Paul Simon being two that I admire. As to finding your own style, l reckon the previous poster is right - listen to anything and everything. It may take you a lifetimes search though, before you find it ..or you may have it by about Tuesday afternoon next week!

Good luck finding it! :)

Not to get too eastern and mystical so early in the year but - 'search eternal knowing you will never find what you seek'.

That said the searching need not be just floating along, you can be systematic?