How to Begin with MIDI?

Daggerhart

Hullo folks,
I've been trying to figure out how to get MIDI to work with my setup, but since I've never done any MIDI before in my life, I'm somewhat at a loss. I was hoping there would be some expert here who would be willing to give me a step-by-step instruction on how to record a midi bass line with the setup I have. Here's my setup:

Roland RD100 with MIDI Out
MIDI cables
Delta1010 Interface
Pentium IV Computer
Cubase

If anyone can help, I would greatly appreciate it.
Thanks!
-Brandon

plug the midi out of the controller into the midi in on the delta, thats it for cables.

Create a new midi track in cubase, set its midi input to the delta midi in

open up your VST instruments (F11) and select Synths/VB1 (or whatever vsti)

In the midi track, select the VB1 as the midi output(it will now appear as an option), turn on the little monitor button and thats it.

Here are links to two good articles on midi basics - part one and part two.

Junior from Detroit has it mostly right, but you may need some more background and specifics on what exactly midi is and what it can do. There are three more good articles on the web site linked above - when you're ready for them.

Thanks for the info guys! Ssscientist, those are some nice links.

Does Cubase come with good samples, or will I have to download somewhere and install them?

:D

No he is right, its worth learning. it allows you to really "go all the way" with your midi gear and that will get you started

Daggerhart said:
Does Cubase come with good samples, or will I have to download somewhere and install them?
It doesn't come with any samples per say, but does come with some soft synths.

You can find many more free and low-cost soft synths here. A word about searching KVR - it's difficult but stick with it. Some of my favorite free VSTi's (VST instruments) are Synth 1, Green Oak Chrystal, Superwave8, Claw, Free Alpha and ProtoPlasm Free.