How to Add Effect to Just a Section, Not Entire Track?

Inspired

I'm new to Cubase LE 4. So far, I'm noticing that it's not half as user-friendly as CakeWalk Sonar! I may wind up switching back. Anyway, my current question is:

How can I add a Reverb effect to just a little section of a loop? I don't want an entire track to be effected.

I'm new to Cubase LE 4. So far, I'm noticing that it's not half as user-friendly as CakeWalk Sonar! I may wind up switching back. Anyway, my current question is:

How can I add a Reverb effect to just a little section of a loop? I don't want an entire track to be effected.

If you use the "cut" command (scissors on the tools bar) and cut out the section you need.

Right click on the track you have, and select 'duplicate'

This will create an identical track with the same 'cut out' loop section

delete the parts of the loop you don't need

If you use the "cut" command (scissors on the tools bar) and cut out the section you need.

Right click on the track you have, and select 'duplicate'

This will create an identical track with the same 'cut out' loop section

delete the parts of the loop you don't need

Great idea. I'm trying that. Haven't got the kind of results that I got with Sonar, but I'll keep trying. With Sonar you could just select a piece of the clip that you wanted, then process it with whatever effect you wanted. The rest of the clip would be unchanged.

without using the duplicate feature and using more tracks you can still cut out the audio part then "Process" it in place with whatever effect you desire

without using the duplicate feature and using more tracks you can still cut out the audio part then "Process" it in place with whatever effect you desire

True.

So far, I don't think Cubase LE 4 is anywhere near as good as Sonar! It's not user-friendly by any means. Below are some of the things that I liked about Sonar 2.0XL, that don't seem to be easy with Cubase: