How many tracks do you average in your DAW?

storoi90

Hi everyone,

I am pretty new at producing (about 2 years), and i'm at a point where i am really starting to appreciate details in music, and discovering how i can incorporate details in my own productions.

One big thing i 've been noticing with my sessions, is the number of tracks i am using.. or rather lack of tracks.
I think this is what my productions are lacking to get a more professional sound, with more details and layering.

On average my sessions consist of roughly 20-25 tracks, and i've heard about sessions that uses up to 100 + tracks.
My sessions consist of various things like piano, strings, drums, bass, synth's, organ, guitar etc.

My question is in the title of this topic, and if you could, please tell me some of your techniques if you want to.

I am really curious of what all these tracks are made up of.. they can't just be duplicates can they?

And i am a Pro Tools 8.0.5 LE user at the moment, but i am in the process of upgrading both to an Mbox Pro and Pro Tools 10 to get better audio, more tracks and busses and so on.

On average, only 12 to 14. Sometimes 20 to 24 max. Usually anywhere from 4 to 8 tracks of drums, 2 tracks of bass (direct send and a mic), a couple of tracks for guitar, 1 or 2 for keys, a lead vocal and up to 2 or 3 backing tracks.

mine are electronic so a lot of them are just FX tracks and layers beats, drums can take as much as 20 tracks....so generally around 40-60

I have seen track breakdowns on many modern records and when homerecorders say they can get that pro sound thats because pro's are layering everything...on some dumb pop track like niki manaj's "starships" theres around 9 kick tracks alone...altogether the song was 142 tracks, not including buses and the vocals were grouped into one track

that could just be a producers wankfest though...