how many of you people get these things?

cello_pudding

do you ever respond? this one looks less fishy as it names one of my songs, but perhaps they just have a good spam bot.

"Hi Johnmark,

I heard your song, “Push Poke Pry” and I am very impressed with it. We are currently working on a compilation CD titled “Goin Back Home”. It will feature Folk and Bluegrass artists. I believe that your song would be a perfect fit on this project and I would be honored to have you take part.

My name is Brenden Bosmans and I am a project manager with Quickstar Productions, as well as a musician. Quickstar Productions is a company that specializes in designing music-marketing campaigns and supplying digital distribution services for record labels and independent artists. In 2005, Quickstar Productions released its first Comp CD as a way to promote unsigned artists. This CD was extraordinarily successful in accomplishing its mission! Over the years the company has built off that success and perfected a marketing plan to maximize exposure for the artist. Quickstar Productions is based out of Baltimore, MD and is an active member of the Maryland Better Business Bureau.

“Goin Back Home” will be marketed and made available in the following ways:

1. PHYSICAL SALES: You will receive 50 copies of the CD to sell at whatever price you choose. These will be professionally produced, retail ready CD’s. We recommend selling them for $8. That way you can make $400. You keep 100% of your sales. This is a great way to get more merchandise to sell at your shows and also a way to target other fans in your genre. The idea is that when each artist sells their 50 copies, the other artists on the CD will have their music exposed to other fans of your genre of music. Your song will be exposed to
many new listeners.