How do you know there is more noise than normal?

Centropolis

Sorry about the newbie questions......I am still pretty new to recording even though I own a bit of equipment for a while.

For those who are using or used a cheap all-in-one box multi-track records, like a Fostex MR-8 or a Boss BR-600, how do I know that the noise I am hearing is "normal" because of the quality of the unit due to its price point?

I recently bought a used Fostex MR-8 to upgrade my Tascam Portastudio 424. (Some of you may think that's a downgrade but what I mean it upgrade to digital.) And here is what I am hearing:

- no inputs are active, I just plug my headphones into the jack and I turn up the volume to about 80% and I hear this hiss and if I turn it to max, I hear what sounds like electrical interference sound. Is this normal because of the cheap electronic parts that are used?

- when I activate the input (e835) and put the trim to where it needs to be to get a good signal, there is additional noise added that I can hear, I think this is normal....or is it even for a cheap unit?

I have been thinking of getting the DMP3 preamps to upgrade the sound but if the built-in pres of my MR-8 is already noisey, does it matter if I have a cleaner preamp in front of the noisey preamp? I guess I would have to turn the built-in pre off? Does anyone know that I can do that in the MR-8 MKII? I didn't read anything like that in the manual.

Make sure all of your FX/AUX returns are turned down until you're ready to use them..as well as any unused tracks.

It's not really about just the *noise*, it's more about the *signal-to-noise*.

Turn up all the knobs on most mixers to 80% without any signal, and yeah, you will hear some hiss.
The thing to do is have some music playing at a *good/comfortable* level, and then see how much noise you hear when the music stops, or during very soft passages.
If you still hear a lot of hiss at that point when there is no music...then maybe you have electronic issues.