How do I mix a single stereo track?

bvp663

Alright, here's the setup. I've got 2 acoustic guitars and a singer with 2 gt44s set up as overheads to capture it. The recording itself turned out decent, but how exactly do I mix (well, there's nothing to "mix" really), or "polish" the track (2 tracks, Left and Right)? Does anyone have any reccommendations? Some eq, a little compression maybe? I'm still fairly new to this recording thing and I don't have the mixing instinct that many of guys have. Here's what I've done with one of the songs so far.
Suggestions on how to make this thing rock (as much as it can for a simple room recording) would be appreciated.
Thanks

You answered your own question. There is nothing to mix. Read this <a href="http://www.bluebearsound.com/articles/mixing101.htm" target="_blank">Mixing 101</a>
to get an idea of what mixing is. It's going to take alot of reading, learning and experimenting before you can get a decent recording under your belt. This BBS is an excellant place to do all that.

It's best not to 'polish' tracks. For this you would be better off if you just start over and retrack it. Try different mic placements and some isolation. By using only the overheads you picked up the sound of the room. Do you hear the room? Once you have that there is no getting rid of it basically. Bringing the mics closer to the source will pick up more of the instrument and less of the room. You could track up close and also far away simultaneously and mix the two together later. Use overdubs, e.g. track the guitars first and do the vocals later.

At any rate there is an infinite number of ways to do it so just stick around, read and learn, experiment and have fun. :D