How do I get Def Leppard Vocals??

tjorenby

Hey guys,

Im a young producer/engineer (senior in highschool to be exact).

A band that im currently recording is really into the 80's sound. They had told me that they wanted the "Mut" treatment to their vocals. I assumed that they were talking about Mut Lang.

Then the Def Leppard sound came to mind.

There background vocals sound really interesting, I cant put my finger on what it is or how to achieve it.

Anyone think they could help or even know what im talking about?

Thanks alot guys!

~Tyler Jorenby
www.mp3.com/adifferentseason

Hire 'mutt' lange as your producer.....guaranteed results or your money back....in reality, theres a huge number of 'layered' vocal tracks there...thats where it starts for that kind of sound

That's the sound of a million tracks of doubling on tape. Good luck getting that sound with a sub-million dollar budget.

Sure, if you use a digital recorder. Try layering as many vocals as you can. Most people will end up with mud but try it. Timing is everything....oh and editing.

awesome, im listening to Def Leppard's Euphoria right now tryin to figure it out.

I have Pro Tools 5.3.1
I have a bunch of rack effects and a compressor, but I dont use them that much because pro tools comes with all the ones that I have needed so far.

It kinda sounds like there's a synthesizer playing the notes that the vocalist is singing and its layered right along with the vocal track it self.

Would duplicating the same track a few times then off setting them by a couple of milliseconds do the trick?

Voxvendor and I are working on a project at the moment, and he is a master at getting that sound on a fairly small budget. Go to voxvendor.com and check out some of his stuff that he did on his own.