How can I improve this tiny space?

ultrasound

Hi. I just moved to a new flat and this the only place I have to set up my computer. Because it's sort of a corner it's a terrible place to put the monitors. You can see I made some acoustic treatment panels from some Rockwool RW3 but it still doesn't sound very good. Also my speaker stands are polystyrene from the box they came in.

I am studying sound production and college and it will help me a lot if my mixing space is as good as can be.

Do you have any suggestions for me to help make this little corner sound acceptable?

DeskAberdeen.jpg

Close the curtains (that won't help much, but it helps. At least you're facing the window :)
Hang a cloud directly above the chair (listening position). Even a 2" x 2x4' will greatly reduce the problem freqs.
Put some 4" directly behind you. That'll be a great start.

Although this might be one of the worst setups I've ever seen, it is what so many people have to work with. (I'm not criticizing you. The space is what you have and it just isn't conducive to good mixing.) I agree about closing the curtains; the cloud I think should be at least 4" if you can do that. 2" just doesn't do a lot for the low frequencies For high ones and for standing waves even cloth is better than nothing. And putting the rock wool behind you will help but you're beginning to get into some money. You can get a package of 3" for about $50 bucks though and doubling it would help a lot. Make sure you aren't creating a fire hazard. I would add that you should get a good set of headphones suitable for checking mixes. Here's a link that might help. (In situations like this including on the road set ups, headphones can save you a lot of heartache.) The 7 Best Open Back Headphones for Mixing
Rod Norman
Engineer

I mixed my uni submissions in worse!