how can I improve my metal rhythm track?

bball_1523

I recorded a rough take of the rhythm part to a metal song I am writing. I noticed it sounded very raw and boxy, as well as bassy. I tried to EQ it, but with my tiny knowledge in EQ'ing and mixing, I seriously suck at making this rhythm stand out. I want my rhythm to sound more punchy and clearer that the muddiness that it represents.

I was wondering what steps I can do to tweak my sound and get it to sound right in the mix once I add drums, bass, and keyboards?

here it is:

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/songInfo.cfm?bandID=396837&songID=4104929

I can't listen to the clip because my dial up at work it so slow but if you're trying to get it to sound "right" when it's not even in a mix then you may be really disappointed when you finally get it right and it doesn't work with the mix. When I was a newb I'd always try to make the individual instruments sound great by themselves. I was basically just working against myself when I did that. I finally learned a then everything had to sound right as a whole. You'd actually be very surprised at how bad some guitar sounds would be when they're solo'd compared to in a mix. A good way to learn eq is just to sweep thru the frequencies and find what you think may sound good. I honestly do more cutting than boosting especially in the low end. Guitars are a pain in the ass but once you figure them out you'll laugh at yourself.

jonnyc said: