hooking up a mixer to a Digi002, Please help me

skiscem

Well A friend Ask me to record his band at their practice space, his band is about 8 pieces and they play Christian pop/rock.

I own a Digi002, and of course i dont have anough tracks to record the whole band at the same time, so i decided that i will be using their mixer. its a 28 channel yamaha... that all i know, my plans are to send all mics trough the mixer and then to my 002...
but my question is... what is the best way, which output should i use from the mixer, and where to my 002.
i have been recording for a few months but only track by track, never a live band so i have no idea.
any other advices will be well received

thanks!

Just get some more tracks. Buy one of these for $229.00 ($200 or less on ebay)

http://www.8thstreet.com/product.asp?ProductCode=20720&Category=Audio_Interfaces

and a lightpipe cable. It will go into the 002 by optical ADAT and come out as 8 separate tracks- There's 12. That leaves channels 5-8 for anything that is line level. and coaxial S/PDIF for 2 more, if it's already digital. By using all the available inputs, the 002 can do 18 tracks. The ADA8000 doesn't suck nearly as much as it shouild for what it costs. It does drum tracks just fine.-Richie

if you have the mics to do so... sub mix the drums. meaning using their mixer, mix the drums to a stereo aux (or 2 aux's) out on the mixer to a line in (or 2 if it is stereo) you dont need a mic pre for it, so just line level is fine. and that is usually the heap of mics. have vocalists share mics,