Home recording songs

Minstrels

I want to video record some songs. I am a music teacher but no real experience with tech. So really would welcome some simplified options. I have 3 sm58 mics A Yamaha stage pass 300 and toggle Roland Cube ex. Is there a way to use iPhone with any of this to achieve a good recording. Perhaps using the mixer of the Stagepass or the Roland?

A common thing is to record the sound separately and then stick sound and picture together in a video editor. I suppose you also need to think about how difficult it is to record video and play - hence why lots of people do a decent recording then just mime to it for the video. Do you already do your audio recordings? If so adding video isn't too hard, but learning to record AND learning to shoot video can be a challenge unless you are technically minded? One person's simple is another'd headache! Where do you stand?

I don't have an iPhone so I have no idea how useful it would be but IMO you need an Audio Interface with 4 (they don't do 3s) microphone inputs and the cheapest I am aware of is the Behringer UMC404HD at just under £100. Despite its low cost they are surprisingly good units and will allow you to record each mic on a separate track for later editing, balance etc. On a computer that is.

You have SM58 mics? Fine for speech but there is no way you will be able to have them far enough away not to be in shot so Robs idea of "get the sound in the can then fake it!" I reckon is the only way to go?

Dave.