High Pass Filter question-Overheads

fris9

I'm new at messing around with the HP filter thing....I'm using ADK SC-2 SDC for overheads, running them through an M-Audio DMP3 which has a Low Cut 75 Hz option. Question: My mics also have HP filters, 75 or 150hz. If I engage the Low cut on the pre-amp should I still use the HP on the mics too?

just run a quick mic test with all three possible combinations. I would think they would both do the same thing if they are both at 75

fc = frac{1}{2 \pi \tau} = frac{1}{2 \pi R_1 C}

50/50 depending on the source that you are capturing either mic or pre but I wouldn't do both at the same time.

I'm new at messing around with the HP filter thing....I'm using ADK SC-2 SDC for overheads, running them through an M-Audio DMP3 which has a Low Cut 75 Hz option. Question: My mics also have HP filters, 75 or 150hz. If I engage the Low cut on the pre-amp should I still use the HP on the mics too?

The low frequencies will still be gone either way, but I wouldn't use both. At the most, it'd just be overkill.

fc = frac{1}{2 \pi \tau} = frac{1}{2 \pi R_1 C}

:confused:

so you're saying that a grilled cheese sandwich doesn't go with tomato soup? :eek:

BLASPHEMY!

:D

If it were me, I'd cut the lows closer to the source, as in the mics. Not sure tho. Never thought about it. Maybe set em up, record a 30 seconds or so of each and see what you think.

:drunk:

Or...don't cut any of the lows, because you can always cut them out later, during the mix (if really needed/wanted).

IMHO, unless the low end is troubling --- overloading things, causing too much rumble from low-end vibrations, etc --- leave it for the mix.

Seems a lot of folks these days like to HPF everything they record. I think it adds to the edgy/mid range vibe of a lot of music (that I don't care for), though I guess if you listen to stuff 99% of the time on iPods and small computer speakers, that's what you are use to hearing.