Hi! -- Newbie here with very basic Newbie technical questions

Protomixer

Hi! -- I have been listening to lots of MP3 mixes (genre: Trance) and would like to make my own mixes starting from the MP3 mixes -- just for my own use.

I will not be using any packaged software, but being a coder, would like to write my own little software. I am sure my questions below have been covered many times over in this forum. But not knowing the keywords, it will be very hard for me to find them.

1- Is it possible to simply arithmentically add two MP3 streams of the same bit rate (e.g. 320 kbs) and get a mix, or must it first be converted? What does it sound like when MP3s are simply added?

2- If it has to be converted, would that be Wave 44.1 kHz, or is there a higher-quality method to convert for the purpose of mixing and converting back to MP3? Am I correct to assume that two Wave 44.1 kHz can be arithmetically added, and volume controlled by multiplication with a constant?

3- Where can I find source code (in C) of codecs for this purpose that are basic, small and raw, and don't come with frills and bloats? That take one stream and produce another stream.

Thank you so much in advance for each and all replies.

Protomixer

Last edited:
Hi Protomixer and welcome. I cannot help you with anything to do with "coding" but I can give you my opinion about working with MP3s. Don't, if you can avoid it. AFAIK the compression* system is a 'one off, one time' event and any further manipulation with MP3 tend to lead to sonic degradation. For example, MP3 is intended for reproduction at modest 'domestic' sound levels. Boost it up to stage PA SPLs and 'cracks' begin to show. There is also the problem that the bit rate will be different for different sources. Music done at 320k is really very good but stuff smashed down to 92k or less get very 'blugh'