Hi, i'm new to this. I could use some guidance.

Helpmeimanoob

Well i'm currently a n00b. I just got a few good (for dummies) starter books on Home Recording . But i figured I'd post this while i'm reading them to try and meet some people i can trust if i have any questions later on down the road. But i need help...i got ahead of myself.

--First Problem! Walking into Guitar Center with over $200 store credit and over $200 in my pocket. And i'm 19 years old so... I did something VERY VERY DUMB. I walked into the audio section and told the clerk, "I want to record my guitar and vocals with my computer! Show me what to buy please!" So i left with over $300 in equipment that i BARELY knew how to use. I got it all working but its really quiet. And the quality isn't very good either, it sounds like i recorded with a stage mic onto a Line 6 Looper pedal. But i'm not entirely sure that there's a quality problem because the volume is so low. I also had some playback problems. When i would try to record on top of other tracks, the meter would move but... "silence." (But I think the problem is either one, my sound card, the way i hooked everything up, or the fact that i wasn't very comfortable at all with the software)

I have made a nice, easy-to-read picture of my gear. (computer,interface,mic) It's an attached file on this thread. I'm sorry, I know its kind of a hassle to download a picture. But i'm going to hopefully make a reply with the picture already showing so you wont have to. And for software, I just bought this computer and it came with an ...80% trial of ASUS Music Maker . So i used that.

Gear:

PC: ASUS Desktop computer. I print-screened the Dxdiag for you. It's on the attached picture along with the other gear.

Art USB Dual Pre: Left and Right 1/4" /XLR in. USB out to computer. It did not come with any software. The CD that came with it was only Audacity. that's all.