Here's the equipment list, did I hook it up right?

kirkhere

I'm helping a friend setup a small recording studio so he can produce narrative Bible stories (voice, sfx, and some music). He's already got his gear, as he had someone else working on this project for the past year. That guy's moving away, and my friend has been looking for someone to take over. I got picked, but my background is broadcast/video and film production - but not on the audio side.

The gear was delivered and I've set about hooking it up on my own. I think I've got it, but there are some subtleties I don't get. Here's the list, followed by my questions. (If it's easier just to reply with "Here's the way you *should* have hooked it up" rather than detailed answers to my hookup/questions, that's okay too!)

--Mackie 1202-VLZ mixer (not the more recent PRO version)
--Shure SM58 Mic + Boom Mic Stand
--Gina Sound Card (20-bit, 2 in by 8 out)
--dbx MC6 MiniComp compressor
--DOD Dimension 3 digital effects unit
--Sony MXD-D3 Mini Disc Rec/Player
--Celeron-powered CPU w/6x CD Burner
--Mixed XLR and Oxygen-Free TRS cables

I am at somewhat of a loss figuring out the most effective way to connect this gear; and I think some of this may be overkill (based on how they thought they were going to use it versus the way it seems they did end up using it). My friend is an older man who is not very computer- or equipment-literate; and the other person is currently unreachable.

From reading the docs, my "theory of hookup" goes like this--don't laugh--and my questions follow.

a) Shure SM58 connected to Mic 1 input of Mackie;
b) INSERT 1 tapped from Mackie through the dbx compressor;

comment: This lets me compress the mic input or not (compressor has a bypass switch). I think I'm good here.

c) AUX SEND 2 from Mackie to DOD3 sfx unit L IN;
d) DOD 3 sfx unit L OUT connected to Mackie LEFT AUX RETURN 2;