help with synth/sampler/midi

vitamin worm

ok, once again i am a newbie looking for guidence in this electronic world ...

i was just reading the rhodes thread and i saw that you can actually use a synthesizer and sampler to recreate the sounds of other synths.

for example, i would like to use a keyboard and a sampler, and buy a CD or some sort of patch that could make it so it sounds like a moog, or a rhodes, or a mellatron or something similar.

can somebody explain to me how this could be done?

and what kind of equiptment i should look into buying if i was interested in doing this (and remember ... i am a poor college student on a budget).

i really really really really appreciate it,

thanks,

-vw

How it's done: You buy the sampler, buy a sound disc with patches that work on your sampler, load the patch and play!

Or did you want to know how it works, or?

thanks for the information ... maybe i should rephrase my question:

i want to make a keyboard synth make sounds using a sampler and patch CDs.

what would be a good sampler?
what would be a good keyboard?
where would i buy some of the patch CDs for the sampler?

thanks in advance!

-vw

Using a sampler to get a variety of sounds is a good strategy. There are some caveats to keep in mind.