help! with otari 1/2" eight track...

skullfisher

hi, this is my first post...

I'm new to analog recording. I'm setting up an otari mx5050 1/2" eight track. I just started aligning the machine. however when playing a test tone into the mixer, which is routed to an input on the otari, I'm not getting any signal to tape...?

I have the manual and I've followed the instructions for recording (sounds simple: flip desired channel to 'ready' mode, switch to 'individual', flip desired channel to 'input').

I just can't figure out for the life of me why there isn't any signal going to tape.

I've tried bypassing the console and going direct into the otari... still nothing.

any suggestions? I'm baffled.

The only thing you haven't mentioned is if you have pressed the REC button?:)

Besides arming the track when the tape is not rolling, you must also press the REC button along with the play button.

If you are doing this but just failed to mention it, we have to look elsewhere.

When you play the test tone on your tone generator, is the signal showing up on the Otari's meter?

Also, some history on the machine would be nice here.
You say you are new to recording. How long have you had this Otari machine?

Have you successfully recorded anything else on it before?

Why are we, (you) assuming that the machine needs to be calibrated?

Did the previous owner give you an indication that this would be necessary because of someone's monkeying around with the machine and this needing to be done to get the machine back to normal?

Did the previous owner tell you that the machine was defective in any way?

Cheers! :)

yup, no worries! the previous user didn't say it was defective in any way. but then he drove it to my house, which is about three hours away. something could have happened during the transportation?

I've been hitting play and record. ;)

I know I can play back correctly because I was able to align the vu meters and repro hi freq with an mrl tape.