Help with Drum VSTi

coopkenta

Ok...I'm completely new to MIDI. I didn't even start (trying to) using until about a week ago. I've learned a lot in the past few days, but I'm stuck on one thing...

I downloaded a free Virtual Drum vsti called "Wollo beat". My question is...what am I supposed to do to get it to "play"? Do I need some sort of external sequencer or something to create the drum patterns? I want to be able to create a MIDI file that I can put into Reaper that will basically tell my drum vsti what to do...but i don't really care if its midi or not...I just want my drums to "play"!

I'm stuck! Help!

Ok...I'm completely new to MIDI. I didn't even start (trying to) using until about a week ago. I've learned a lot in the past few days, but I'm stuck on one thing...

I downloaded a free Virtual Drum vsti called "Wollo beat". My question is...what am I supposed to do to get it to "play"? Do I need some sort of external sequencer or something to create the drum patterns? I want to be able to create a MIDI file that I can put into Reaper that will basically tell my drum vsti what to do...but i don't really care if its midi or not...I just want my drums to "play"!

I'm stuck! Help!

You need to get into Reaper first.

1 You need to make sure that Reaper knows that the vsti is available. Do this by going Options>Preferences>Plugins>VST then hit "rescan directory"

2 You need a track to carry your midi information. Go Insert>new midi item

3 You need this track to make use of the vsti. On the track header, click on the "show track FX window". This will bring up a list of all the available plugins. Click on 'vsti". Your drum vsti should appear.

4 At this point you can load a kit or samples into the vsti. Close these windows and get back to the main Reaper screen. The FX button will be highlighted.

5 Double-click on the "untitled midi event". This brings up a midi editor. Here you add notes to get the various samples to make their sound.