Help on micing Guitar Amps?

Monsoon

I'm new to the home recording thing. Having fun learning, spending lots of time reading this forum. I'm having a problem micing my guitar amp, and I was hoping you guys would be able to give me some suggestions. Here's the thing:

I'm running a Line6 Spider II head into a Crate cab. Using an SM-57 to mic the cab, running it into a DMP-3 preamp, then into an M-Audio 2496 installed in a Dell. Running Cakewalk's Sonar 3.

When I play the guitar, I like the sound coming out of the amp. When I place the mic in front of it and record, the sound coming out when I playback is thin, tinny, and, well, crappy. If I run a line direct out of the head into the preamp (no mic), the sound I get when I play back is thick, rich, and exactly what I wanted to hear.

I've tried moving the mic all over. close. far. angled, straight. high. low. I just get different degrees of crappy.

I'm about ready to just scrap the mic and do my recording direct in. But I feel like I'm missing something. If that was really the best way to record, then why all this fuss about what microphones to use, etc? Why doesn't everyone just do direct line in?

So, somebody, please help. What am I doing wrong with the mic?

Is your mic and cable OK? What does it sound like when you speak into it? Full and rich, or thin? You should get a good proximity effect with the 57 - increased bass as you get closer to the sound source. When you say "close", does that mean an inch or two from the speaker?

Where are your ears in relation to the cabinet? If you like how it sounds there, maybe you can use that as a start?? Also, does your room have a lot of natural reverb that you like? If so, it will be lost when close mic'ing. You may have to add it in the mix... Good luck, let us know!!