Help Newbie with Final Touches to First HR Setup!

Ibrow

Pretty much a total newbie here. I have Read and Read and Read. I will be recording to my PC. I have a few questions before I buy ANYTHING. Like Ed says, Buy cheap, buy twice. :)

I already have the PC with an SBLive! w/5.1 card.(shitty, but good enough for now.) I was at Mars the other day and finally got to test the AT4033, I think it was. I was astounded as to how sensitive it was. I live in an apartment so I don't think I need a condenser mic yet. Maybe someday I'll get a basement and be able to squelch ambient noise, then I'll get myself a condenser. I will primarily be recording vocals, for now, into my PC. I am thinking SM57 or 58. Since someday I will go to a good condenser, I think a 57 should be able to handle vocals for now, then instruments later.

Question: Should I buy the 58, because it's "better" for vocals? In the future, from what I've read I don't think the 58 will be as versatile as the 57 in so far as micing instruments. Is that correct?

Q2: How do I run the 57, or 58 into my PC? I know it has to come in at line level. Do I need a preamp, and if so what type, cheap? I would like to buy the Blue Tube. (buy cheap, buy twice) Would that be overkill for running a dynamic mic into my PC? I most likely won't be able to get a condenser, and have a nice quiet place to use it, for over a year. Would it just be better to get a less expensive preamp, or not?

Q3: Finally setup. How the heck do I set this up? SM57/58 to preamp via XLR cable to what? There has to be some sort of conversion in there to get it down to the 1/8"jack on the soundcard line in. Any help and suggestions in finishing the connections are greatly appreciated.

Thanks for any and all answers. I have really learned a hell of a lot from reading so very many posts on this board.

Now if I could just sing as well as I read, I'd really have something.:)

Ibrow