help needed

jwai

hi everyone, i'm trying to get my own demo started here. i'm interested in a multi-tracker to do the recording job. here's the list of stuff that i have:

boss dr-770 drum machine
POD XT
boss GT6 effect processor

i'm trying to get a multi-tracker to handle the recording and finalizing the mix with a PC software. is there anymore things that i need like a mixer or a monitor??? please feel free to list them down. i'm really new to this whole thing. i intend to do the bass with the multi-tracker as well. i heard the boss br-8 and the fostex mr-8 is pretty good. do i need a mixer to connect my drum machine to the multi-tracker? thanks in advance!!!

You don't need a mixer, you can plug the DR-770 straight into the multitracker. You can run it through a mixer if you want to do stuff like add effects etc. Can't comment on either the Boss or Fostex multitrackers. I have a Tascam 788 which I like a lot.

if you are going to be using a PC to master mixes, youll need a decent soundcard anyway, so why not just record straight to the PC?......for about $139 or maybe less, you can get a Delta Audiophile 2496 soundcard and it will be all you need........

do i really need a soundcard to transfer my music from the multi tracker to the PC? i thought the boss br-8 uses zip-disk while the mr-8 uses a usb port? will that be enough or i would still have to get a soundcard? what software would you guys recommend? i had thought of a full PC recording system but the soundcard, the mixers, the mid keyboard and stuff, i thought that might be too much investment to make. furthermore, there's alot of stuff to learn and figure out in a software than a standalone multi-tracker. yes the software will be very convinient in the long run, but i'm still new. thanks guys, keep up the posting. all your comments are very much welcome. thanks!!!!

I have the new incarnation of the BR8,