Help Me!!!!!

drummer1000

right heres the dilemma,im trying to set up a home studio for recording my bands practice sessions/demos etc and ive no idea what to do about it,i have a copy of pro tools and various stienberg software and am about to recieve a spirit mixin desk,what i want to know is how to get the signals from the inputs on the desk to pro tools...also i need to know if i'll need to upgrade my sound card (currently an SB16-i know i know)to do this,i am going to upgrade it anyway but i need to know which cards would handle recording best(im dimly aware of something called a SB 64 live platinum audigy but what it does i dont know)........i get a feelin that this is a very very basic problem but as i said im new to all this and am a drummer so dont have much in the area of intelligence(allegedly) any help on this matter will be greatly appreciated

Hi

You'll be better off with a 'prosumer' card. The audigy is a consumer card by Creative, available in Vanilla, Super Vanilla and Triple Sundae. Excellent card for gaming and amateur musicians, and a whole flotilla of bells and whistles, but honestly if you want to get a 'pro' level sound and the ability to record in 24-bit, you'll need a prosumer card like a Delta, MOTU, etc (look for the polls for some names and opinions.

These cards, will however not do MIDI, games and other general stuff (I recommend keeping the SB for this). Once you get the card, routing the deck outputs into the soundcard is as easy as pie. Or you can stay cheap and use a set of jacks to wire the inputs into your SB for now (that's what I do)

Sang

ok maybe im just very dense