Help me out! Newbie Recording

Johnbmx26

Hey,
I've gotten all my recording gear, and I'm a complete newbie. I got Audix Fusion Mics, and I'm using a Yamaha MG12 mixer. I'm recording onto my ibook laptop through the mic input. I'm using garageband, and I've tried many different filters to see if I can make it sound better, but I have no luck.. I've also played around with the mixer alot but still no luck.. First, I'm getting all this noise even when nothings recording. I havn't even setup my tom mics or over heads, I'm just trying to get my bass and snare to sound good first. Everything sounds real muffled. I keep my bass drum mic about 2 inches away from the head, I've also tried taking the resonant head off and recording without it, but I'm having no luck. It's a low, muffled, no attack sound. Sometimes it even sounds like a low tom. My snare sound's better than my bassdrum, but no where near as nice as I want it to be.. Everything almost sounds like its recording off a camcorder or something. Anyone have any ideas or tips? Should I purchase some quality software?

If it wasn't late, I'd make a recording real quick to show you how it sounds.. but I'll probably be able to put one up tommorow.

I also have a recording of a friends drumset that has the sound I'm looking for, if anyone is free to talk to me on AIM and help me a bit, that'd be great.. my screen name is Johnbmx26, I could send you the mp3 too.

Thanks
John

The noise might be coming from the stock standard sound card in the ibook, so an upgrade there might be handy. What does the sound coming out of the mixer sound like before it gets to the computer? Plug in some headphones and hear what the computer is getting. If it sounds bad there then you need to mess around with mic placement, eq and make sure your levels are ok. Also, you're not using the ibook's speakers to monitor with are you?