Help me deside what to buy next! (Studio Gear)

Zorlee

Hi!
I'm really new to the world of home recording, but I really want to get started. The gear I currently own is drum mics!
Now here's the problem:
I don't know what to buy next! Should I go for a harddisc recorder? Or a computer based system?

I would really want it to be portable.
I've been thinking about the AW1600 for a while, and it looks really nice. On the other hand it's not that easy to expand, and you have to work on a tiny lcd screen.
I've been thinking about getting a Presonus firepod (I need atleast 8 mic preamps) and a 2nd hand laptop. This is a great solution, but the problem is the latency problems with computers, and the crackling and sudden stops/crashes. I would have to get a really powerful machine, now wouldn't I?

So I ask you guys for some help! What should I do? I'm completely lost, and I'm on a budget! I don't want to spend too much money, but I want decent results, and I don't want to record on a computer that doesn't allow me to trust it.

I've been thinking about an iBook 1,33 ghz, but I don't know if that's powerful enough?

Help me out here! All feedback is appreciated! :)

Hello again, Zorlee!

Back again with what's basically the same question.

Your iBook would do fine for the short run, but once you factor in the cost of a capable interface and software you're back to most of the cost of an AW1600.

If you have money to spend and the fact that the AW1600 is 'it's not that easy to expand, and you have to work on a tiny lcd screen.' really bothers you, then by all means go the computer route.

If you want a powerful recorder that's portable and trustworthy, get the AW1600. If you want to enter the big world of computers and soft synths go the computer route.

Hehe, thanks again! :)
Sorry, I don't mean to spam or anything. It's more that I get very frustrated by all these choises... And it's so much money involved - I really don't want to spend my money on the wrong gear!