Help!!!!!!!!! I'm a newbie!

crimp

Hi all, first of all... I'm a newbie. Please don't hold that against me. I may ask stupid questions, but thats the best way to learn! Now with that out of the way, I'll get on to the meat and potatoes! My band has just recently purchased a Tascam 788 and we are in the process of recording a few songs. So far we are having trouble with the overall volume level of the completed mix. Our mixes sound good as far as tone and overall sound, they are just too quiet! I have a copy of Cool Edit Pro and T-Racks 24 but I'm new to these also! I've tried compressing and limiting and then normalizing, but this seems to suck the life out of the tracks. I've used the presets in T-Racks and have been successful in bringing the level up somewhat, but it's still too quiet. My question is this... We didn't use a lot of compression when we recorded these tracks, so there are a lot of large spikes in the waveform. This is the part that has to be squashed to get the level up. Should we try more compression when we record? Can anyone give me any settings in T-Racks or any of the Direct X plug ins for Cool Edit to help deal with this problem. I think I have some pretty good tools... I just don't have the experience yet to use them correctly!!!! Thanks in advance for your help.

Greg Thomas
www.justanotherbeggar.com

crimp said: