Help - does this rock or suck?

brummygit

Hello all

Im fairly new to songwriting and recording and ive written this one, called Not Easy.

please ignore the dodgy strings section lol as i was just playing with it to see if it'd work before I get round to re-arranging and recording the whole lot

Im looking for criticism on any thing really. i reckon it could work, but im biased
Mainly though, im trying to get an idea of:
1) the singing. should i get a singer, lessons myself, or what?
2) the structure/arrangement. is it lacking energy or anything?
3) the mixing. whilst its not finished yet, i had a good crack at mixing as well as i could

any thoughts, good or bad would be appreciated (dont hold back on the bad stuff, ill never learn otherwise...!)

cheers

USED: Logic Pro 6, Zoom drum machine+FX, Yamaha prs290 keyboard, Gibson Les Paul, Washburn acoustic, Rode NT 1 mic, apple powerbook G4, Novation speedio audio/midi interface

some ideas

I think you need crispier acoustic guitarrs (more top)
Youre singing is fine, Just ceep singing and it will be even better. Try to listen carefully to singers you like and try to find out why you like them. Now, dont copy them but you will get ideas on how to imprive your singing.
I dont know if the gúitarrs (electric chorus) play the same figure if they do, try to get them tight if they dont try to separate them, maby by paning or use different sounds or eq.
The drums need some work, i assume they are programmed. Listen to livedrums and copy the way they are playd.
Take it down after the first chorus or you will have nothing left for the second.
This one can be really good, dont cave in.

Ok man, now it´s your turn to listen to my stuff and tell me what you think.

/emser

Hi,

Good song, singing sounded fine, liked the solo.