Hello! Let's start with a question: Trying to decide between 2 firewire interfaces

hertzdonut

Greetings one and all! Recent lurker, and first time poster here!

I'm hoping that someone with more experience than I (which wouldn't be hard, I have almost none!) could share some thoughts or suggestions on my purchasing decision.

For my $300 budget, I've narrowed it down to the Focusrite Saffire Pro 24 or the PreSonus FireStudio Mobile 10x6. I'm just a hobbyist, and relatively new to recording, mixing, etc. Any pros out there, don't cringe, but I really like GarageBand. (I'm not looking to sell CD's. That, and I've only been playing guitar for 2 years!)

My main requirement is to be able to be able to plug in 2 mics and 2 guitars all at the same time, and record them to individual tracks. Either one of these listed below can do that (unless I've really misunderstood their capabilities!)

Beyond that, I guess it boils down to the included software and/or other included goodies.

If anybody has any insight or opinions, I'm open to suggestion!

Oh, if it matters, I'm on a fast MacBook Pro, 2.4 Ghz running 10.6.2, with 4 GB RAM. It's not the newest rig, as it has ports for Firewire 400 and 800. (New ones no longer come with Firewire 400)

Here's the Focusrite:
Saffire Pro 24

and the PreSonus:
PreSonus Firebox 6 x 8

Thanks!

Jeff

why are you plugging in two guitars and two mics?

Fair question! When my buddy comes over, that way I can record our guitars and vocals to separate tracks while playing together. I know that for technical purposes, it makes more sonic sense to record each track one at a time, but where's the fun in that? :)

Or am I missing something obvious? :confused:

So are you going to record your guitars by micing the amps or by plugging them directly into your interface?