Hello, I am having trouble with my new Akai MPK49 midi controller.

fuzzsniffvoyage

I am new to this midi stuff as I am a guitarist. But I am confident that I have correctly plugged the USB cord into a USB port, the controller has lit up (turned on). I have installed the mpk49 driver. I went into VST plugins, controller/generic clicked on the mpk49 driver and closed the window. I have assigned the midi device input as Akai MPK49 and the output as the windows thingy name.

Now do I need an external sound box or are soft synths the same thing?

When I pull up the piano roll on the track, I can trigger sounds with my mouse but not the controller.

I am using an M-Audio Mobile Pre USB interface. Running Windows 7 64bit 2.8ghz w/4gb ram. As stated I am using an Akai MPK49 midi usb controller. I don't know if my wireless mouse would have any interferance or not. The help menu is absolutly no help.

Also I have tried configuring the controller with some software that came with the controller called Vyzex and can not get the controller to be recogonized there either.

I have tried unplugging the Mobile Pre and the wireless mouse, rebooting with just the controller and that didn't work either, tried about 5 times. So I don't think it's a usb conflict. Also went into controll panel and the computer says the akai is working fine.

But I can't seem to locate the midi drivers to see if they need updated.

So any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you in advance

KB

Windows thingy name? You're using Sonar, right?

Go to Insert > soft synth > Dimension ProLE. A menu will open-- Insert Soft Synth Options. Under "create these tracks" check the boxes marked

MIDI source

Synth Track Folder

First synth output

Under "Open these windows" select "Synth Property Page".

This will open a new track folder with two tracks. One is the MIDI track, the other audio. It will also open the Dimension Pro synth window.