Hello all! PLEASE HELP!

Madmax1949

Hello all, if you could help that would be great! I'm in way over my head.

GOAL: To pre record podcast / music mixes to promote self / live dj business for events. Also, I am a new broadcasting student and would like to practice
fades, talking, music selection, etc.

Basically I would like to record music playing from my ipod and laptop along with 2-3 mics at a time. (the laptop I am playing music from is also what I
have my interface plugged into if that can or cannot be done?

WHAT I HAVE:
Laptop
Focusrite 6i6 with ableton live
Mackie CR 1604 (oldie but earned reputation as a tank)

I don't mind if all is recorded on one track the only reason I got the 6i6 was the external power, two headphone jacks and I didn't want to outgrow too
soon in case I wanted to record more down the road. The only reason I would like to use board is for practice.

Please help if you have any ideas how set up will work or any recording tips for my plans. I appreciate it

Hi there.

The best hands on way is probably to
  • plug to ipod into the mixer 1+2 (1/8" TRS to twin 1/4" TS)
  • plug outputs 3+4 of your interface into inputs 3+4 on the mixer
  • Plug the mics into 5,6+7 of the mixer.

Now in your daw, allocate a stereo track to the music you want to play and set the output for that track to interface 3+4.
(this is really necessary to keep things live)

Now all sources are going to the mixer on separate inputs.
Whether you choose to use direct outs, groups, or just the stereo master back to the computer is up to you.
Either way, hook the mixer outputs up to the interface inputs.

I usually shy away from recommending mixer based setups, but it seems to make sense for what you're doing.

Extra:
Now, sidechain compression would be a lovely touch so...

You could group the mixer outputs into two pairs. Music and voices.
Run the pairs into 1+2 and 3+4 of the interface.
That lets you set up a sidechain compressor in the DAW.