Headset performance mic suggestions, please

wuzzo

668- the neighbour of the beast
Hello,
I'm a solo guitarist/songwriter and I use a small 30watt acoustic guitar amp. with an instrument input and a mic. input.
Up until now I've just amplified the guitar and sung acoustic but I now need to add a mic and I don't want the fuss of a mic stand so I'm looking for a wireless headset mic solution.
I'm playing sitting on my amp- just small open-mic gigs- so I'm OK to mix my sound myself. Any suggestions ? Something around £150- 230 US$- 190 Euros would suit my pocket.

They don't provide a mic and PA system at the open mics you are going to? Strange!

Sure they do. I want my own, independent, system under my own control and consistent from gig to gig. You see the wisdom in that ?
Anybody have any recommendations ?

Buy a mic stand and a normal mic like an sm58. Headset mics are a pain, and only the extremely expensive ones sound any good.

Alan.

Trust me. A mic stand is a lot less fuss that a wireless system.

However, if you insist on going the wireless headset route, the cheapest systems I could recommend would be the Sennheiser XS but that's around double your budget. You could probably get the AKG WMS40 within your budget and they're okay-ish but far from great.

If you're in the UK make sure you get a system that works in the 863-865MHz range (basically the bottom half of UHF Channel 70) or on 2.4 GHz, otherwise you'll need to buy a licence. If you see a "to cheap to be real" deal online chances are it will be fake gear on illegal frequencies...there are tons around. Don't forget the cost of changing batteries every second show and replacing the headset once or twice a year. There's a Chinese company that actually does okay headsets cheap--I tend to treat the headset as a disposable now except for the most high end gig--I can did out their details if you decide to go ahead.

Otherwise, buy a mic stand! It'll be much easier in the long run.