Having second thoughts. Would like opinions!

innobidova

I recently became eagle scout and my mom is considering the purchase of a matched pair of the AKG C414BXLII as a gift. Is this too much? I'm just starting out with recording as a hobby, but possibly a career. I already have a bunch of gear, but the main thing I need right now is a microphone collection to start with. I'm thinking with drums in mind since that's what I would use most of the mics on. All I have so far is a Sennheiser E902 kick mic, and I'm set on getting an SM57 for snare and cabs. Right now, instead of the AKG pair, I'm considering a GT55 for vocals and room, AT4041 pair for OH, and E604 three-pack for toms. Would that collection hold it's own against the AKG pair? How much difference is there between LDC and SDC overheads? And should I even worry about close-miking the toms? The thing about choosing cheaper mics to do the same job is that I might be able to squeeze a bass rig out of my mom which would really help me in my band, but at the same time I don't want to compromise TOO much on the mics. I know everybody says that the 414 is great and everything, but how much greater are they than the second choices in this case? Thanks for reading all of this... please let me know of your opinions!

Thunder33 said:
if she is willing to get them for you......go for it!
That's what I was thinking... at first! Argh! I guess I'll have to wait it out for a while and see how I feel about it later. Presently, I'm leaning toward the cheaper route unless I can get a few reasons not to.

ozraves said:
Congrats on the Eagle Scout.
Thank you. :)

innobidova said:
That's what I was thinking... at first! Argh! I guess I'll have to wait it out for a while and see how I feel about it later. Presently, I'm leaning toward the cheaper route unless I can get a few reasons not to.

Thank you. :)