has the best sounding band you've recorded been that much easier?

osus

hello,

so i've been hacking away at this whole recording thing more because i'm a dork and i like buying shiny expensive stuff than because i ever hope to become anything approaching a sound engineer. i'm a distrusting musician--i just want to know enough so that i can spot the difference between a brilliantly skilled sound engineer and a 'pro' sound engineer in a dark alley.

so i was just reading some posts about mixing and mastering. i've pretty much concluded that i don't have the time, energy or money to sink into learning either when i still suck at playing and singing. but reading some of these posts, combined with my experiences with my band (both good and bad) have got me thinking more and more that if the band really has their shit together--not just accuracy of playing or skill of composition, per se, but perhaps more importantly if they're really aware of their sound to the same extent that a sound engineer is, and wrote and performed accordingly, that this would result in a much easier job for the engineer, and an end product that is closer to the beginning product.

So my questions to the experienced (to satisfy my curiosity.) :

a) have you ever recorded a band whose sound you felt you didn't have to do much to?

b) have you recorded bands that have serious problems with the 'pre-mix' qualities of their music--i.e, not necessarily compositional problems (although they're related) bur rather things like multiple instruments trampling all over each other's range and timbre, etc. if so, to what extent do you think it's possible to correct these problems in the editing/mixing/mastering process? (i personally agree with a few comments in the myth thread... that the idea that 'we can fix that in the mix' is not one condusive to successful music)

and here's the doozy...