Guitars Galore! Which way do I pan?

jonhall5446

I was listening to the Black Crowes and I like the what they do with the guitars. Two guitars, one panned full left the other full right.

What do you do if you have three guitar tracks? Would you put the guitar solo in the middle or the rythm?

This question also applies to vocals. I like to have the lead vocal in the middle. Would you pan a one part harmony? What about a two part harmony, would you pan full over or just a little?

I don't want the parts stepping on each other. Thanks in advance!

I would try to envision how it would look if everyone was set up on a stage to play live. Maybe one guitar hard left, one hard right, and then set the bass and third guitar equally spaced, slightly off center. Run the vocals and the drums right down the middle.

I should also mention that I have little to no experience, so my advice might not be worth much.

Cracked has the right idea. This is from Blue Bear's article mixing 101:

As for Panning - it alone can also be used to separate mix elements into distinct positions in the mix. For example, panning a keyboard rhythm part off to one side while panning a complimentary rhythm guitar part to the other will result in a pleasant, wide and full rhythm section whose elements don't interfere with each other. When using panning, it is often helpful to envision a music stage in front of you, and place the tracks within that space as you would normally hear at a concert. You may not keep the tracks in this position as you build-up and further define your mix, but it does make a useful starting point.