Guitar sound need help!

LTG

I have been working with my friends band trying to record his guitar sound but I
can't capture it. I'm a beginner, so please help. He is looking for a Blink 182/ New
Found Glory/ Green Day type of sound. I'm recording the guitar with a shure sm57
through a mixing board and into computer. Please listen and tell me what to do?
Listen at:

I'm no authority on Blink 182 (or recording) and don't track into a computer, but I'd work on the amp/guitar tones and mic placement primarily and then move on to eq and such later.

It sounds really canned to me, but I've got a head cold. What are the surroundings? I've got an amp stuck into a large wooden cabinet that sounds great until you try to record it. It sounds a lot like that, but not nearly as clear!

Get him a tiny amp and crank it all the way. Dont use any
kind of distortion , amp or outboard, then go from there.
A tiny amp, not more than 15 watts top, go dry and use outboard effects later, feed him effects back in the headphone monitor mix if he wants them but dont mix it to disc. Use quality effects and good cables.

Thanks for the replies. Ok, we had been using a crate amp, but i'll try recording a small fender practice amp we have. What kind of outboard effects would I use? I record in a carpeted small room. I can record guitar clean fine, but when I add distortion from the amps it doesn't capture the sound.

If you use the tiny amp and saturate the power output tubes
you should be able to get a real nice distortion, ( I am assuming a tube amp here) not box distortion, or preamp circuitry distortion, nice power output saturation without
blowing your ears off. Any quality guitar effects should work but if you have recording quality outboard effects, reverbs, delays, chorus, flange, etc I would feed the guitar