Guitar players learning drums

Brian_SG

I have been doing some recording mainly using drum loops because of the lack of a live drummer. I've been finding that they're just not cutting it. What I'm wondering is how many of you guys have learned drums after being long time guitar players? Also relatively how easy was it? I know I won't be flying around a set doing solos anytime soon but just looking to get good enough to comp the song fairly well.

I'm a longtime guitarist and drumming hack. I'd say it's easy to be mediocre and hard to be good. However, the penalty for not being good at drums can be even higher than guitar. If the drums are crap on a recording, you're done. With guitars, you can overdub forever until it's right or at least acceptable.

Also, getting good drum sounds is not easy. First you have to know how to tune drums and play them well, e.g. consistent attack and solid timing. Then you have to have a decent room and recording chain. Finally, you have to know how to mix the suckers which could be a whole book.

So I definitely wouldn't expect to just set up some mics and have instant gratification.

I am in your shoes. I have been using loops and drum machines and just not satisified with my results. I decided to buy a cheap electronic drum set just to beat on and see if I could do a better job than the loops. It's has only been a few weeks but I am having fun learning the basics with a play along "How to" book / CD. Like any instrument, it is not easy. I choose electronic drums because they were cheap, quiet (don't want the neighborhood to hear how sorry I play drums) and less complicated to record, such as number of quality mics, pre's, room treatment etc.

I figure if I do get good, I can always upgrade to quality drums.

Good luck.

Charlie