Guitar Effect Pedals

fenderguy4life

Quick question here. Is it okay, or proper to run my guitar through my pedal effects chain then into the audio interface before reaching my DAW? Seems fine to me so far. Just wanna check with the experts. I have my sound. Took me years to put it together. I prefer using my sounds as opposed to emulating them with DAW FX. I do use compression on the master track with the software FX. But that's about all I've found so far that adds anything useful for me. :/ At this point anyhow. I'm new to recording.

You answered all your own questions. Most people prefer to run the dry signal into the DAW when direct inputting so they aren't "stuck" with a certain sound. But what you're doing would be similar to mic'ing an amp which is absolutely "okay" and "proper".

You might want to think about using your effects pedals as outboard gear though, just so you can still tweak the sound when it comes time to mix. That gets a little more complicated with line level, matching impedance and what not though.

Bottom line...does it sound the way you want it to sound?

You answered all your own questions. Most people prefer to run the dry signal into the DAW when direct inputting so they aren't "stuck" with a certain sound. But what you're doing would be similar to mic'ing an amp which is absolutely "okay" and "proper".

You might want to think about using your effects pedals as outboard gear though, just so you can still tweak the sound when it comes time to mix. That gets a little more complicated with line level, matching impedance and what not though.

Bottom line...does it sound the way you want it to sound?

The only issue I have is what you've touched on. Once my sound is in there it's there. I'm fine with that approach for now. I was more concerned with line levels, matching impedance etc. the way I have it setup. Thanks for your reply. I hadn't even considered using the pedals as outboard gear. Food for thought.