Goldwave/Mastering

Bullet Days

so i downloaded goldwave because i read that you can use it to master. i got as far as uploading my wav file, couldn't really find the "master" button :D

no seriously, how do you master a wav file with this program? or does anyone know of another program that's fairly easy to use for mastering?

When I master at home I use Sound Forge 4.5 (old) with a few plug-ins. I'll probably use some multi-band compression (although I don't really know what I'm doing), followed by normalisation and then put it through Waves Ultra-maximizer to nicely compress it. Finally do any fading that might be wanted. It should sound louder and nicer.

Using Goldwave, I'm not sure what facilities that has. Just make sure you top 'n tail it and then normalise.

As you've probably gathered, i'm not a mastering engineer....

:D

Bullet Days said:
so i downloaded goldwave because i read that you can use it to master. i got as far as uploading my wav file, couldn't really find the "master" button :D

no seriously, how do you master a wav file with this program? or does anyone know of another program that's fairly easy to use for mastering?

I've had debates with a few MEs on software programs that "process" versus "mastering". Some feel that if the software can't burn a CD, then it is not mastering software but processing software or a DAW.