Going from a multitrack to computer based - feedback appreciated!

Zorlee

Hi everyone!
First of all, I'm a drummer. I love the drums, and I love practising. A couple of years ago I bought myself some drum mic's and a Yamaha AW1600 multitrack recorder. I had some fun with it, a great practising tool.
Now I've sold the recorder - I wanted a computer based recording "studio" afterall, because I just wanted the flexibility of a computer.

Now, my goal with my home-recording gear would be to get clean and good sounding recordings, that's also user-friendly - I want to use the recording gear just as much as a practising tool (recording practise sessions, listening to technique/sound/dynamics afterwards you know..).
I would also want a setup that allows me to program some music, so that I could make new songs with synths/vocals + me on the drums for example...!

Well, the equipment I've got so far:

- 1 x Audix D6 (Bassdrum)
- 1 x SM57 (Snaredrum)
- 2 x Studio Projects B1 (Overheads)
- Cables/Stands

Now, I'm currently working full time this summer, and therefore I'm saving a lot of money for the upcoming recording gear. What I'm currently planning to get is:

- 1 x Macbook - 2,1 Ghz, 2GB Ram
- MOTU 8Pre Firewire Interface (I was going for the firepod, but since I've heard nothing but great things about MOTU as a brand, this interface is the most tempting)

Now, do you guys think it's a smart first move towards userfriendly, stable and good sounding recordings? I'm well aware of that I need studiomonitors and probably an 7200 RPM extrenal drive for the Macbook, but please, tell me what you think about my plans. This is a lot of money for me, and I would like to spend it in the best manner I can!

Thank you guys for your help in advance!
Yours sincerely,
Zorlee =)

OK, let's take these point by point, and remember, this is just one person's opinion and yada yada yada.

First off, congratulations for being brave enough to enter the insanity that is computer recording.