Give it on Back, Rock Mix, come listen!

jndietz

The Way It Moves
Hi all. Wanted to post a song I recently recorded for a local act in Omaha, NE called "Crown's Folly". This is one of their "heavier" songs. The band was very pleased with this mix, but would like any input from the BBS. I have been recording for a few years now, but don't really have good gear to show for it. That is expected to change soon. I'll explain how I miked everything.

Band hasn't been playing together for long. The drummer is also in my current band (Funk Trek).

Download song here

Mikes -> PreSonus FirePod FP10 -> Rokit KRK5 (first gen)

Drums
Tama kit/SONOR snare, small, low ceiling basement. I think that the drums turned out very well all things considered. My next investments are mostly microphones. After I get my gear, a new house is next and plans to renovate the basement.

Kick
CAD KBM412 dynamic kick mic

Snare
SM57

Hihat
MXL 991

Toms
Peavey dynamic mics

Overheads
MXL 990, A/B spaced

Guitars
Guitar was a Schecter brand guitar running through an Ibanez Tube Screamer, then into a Peavey Classic 30. Amp was miked with an SM57. The distorted guitars were double tracked, hard panned. I also recorded him playing the song clean and mixed it to taste. The clean guitar was miked close, as well two room mics for an extra bit of air.

Bass
Bass was a standard Fender Jazz Bass run straight into the Firepod. Again, sounds good all things considered.

Vocals
Vocals miked with an MXL 990.

Harmonica
The harp player held an SM57 in his hand, but ran it into the Tube Screamer/Classic 30. Cool effect!

Mix Comments