Getting That Ska Punk Sound

twsknight

I've recently started a new band (I'm the drummer hence the newb post) and we're going to be doing Ska Punk. I'm playing around with my amp modelling software, trying to get the best clean ska punk tone so I can give my guitarist (also a newb, well to the genre ne way) some advice.

So, lets pretend money is no object. From guitar, to effects to amp, what would be the ideal? Be as specific as poss, even down to amp settings. At the moment I'm using a Tele copy into my computer, simulating a Clean Marshall with bass at about 4ish, mids up around 7 or 8 and treble around 6. I've got a little bit of verb on there and been messing with an eq pedal, small amounts of gain and a compression pedal, but I can't quite get the perfect sound.

I'm playing ska style chords, keeping it all very staccato with the right rhythm, but it just never sounds a little bit weak.

Again, apologies if this is dumb question, but I'm self taught on the guitar, so I'm not very knowledgible on amps, effects etc.

I think first you need to get a chess-board black and white suit jacket and a matching hat. Purple tie, green pants (keep them 3" too short). Suspenders.

At least three trombone players. Don't shortchange on the trombones.

Get that going and the ska kids (are there any even left? I thought it went away in 2002) will come. Nobody will notice the guitar tone.

Yeah, i know it's not cool anymore, but I'd rather be in a band I like playing in than something that's "Cool".

HA. great thread. I spent 5 years of my life in a ska punk band. Best band i was ever in truthfully. too bad it ended on such a sour note.

Also on the truth tip. We ended up going with 100% crap stuff! Almost. We combed flea markets, yard sales, pawn shops friends garages etc. Looking for whatever we could get our hands on. We had access to some really top of the line amps and effects from the guys we shared jam space but it just wasnt the sound we were looking for.